Adding YES AND

Her Year of YES.

Shonda Rhimes. A female role model in that she is quite impressive. A producer, screenwriter and author. She created the biggest series of shows as the head writer, executive producer and showrunner for Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, Scandal, Off the Map, How to Get Away with Murder, and The Catch.

She’s also a self-proclaimed introvert and workaholic. She wrote about her life in her book Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun, and Be Your Own Person. It’s a quick read and even though I mostly could not identify with her life – it didn’t matter. Her story was very interesting and I enjoyed experiencing her year of transformation with her through her stories and new experiences. Here’s her TEDx talk about her Year of Yes:

To me “Adding YES” to my daily life is different from Shonda’s. I don’t have a problem saying “Yes” to things. Actually, many times I say “No.” I’ve grown to develop that skill. I usually mean adding “Yes” in terms of adding things to my life that make me happy, enrich my life – not letting other’s interests and concerns bother me. What do I need to add to my schedule? What goes in my planner? Finding that middle ground in which we please ourselves while doing no harm, and still providing for those close to us is something we all work on on a daily basis.

Since this blog and my work revolves around YES AND PLAN, I couldn’t really get this blog going without sharing Shonda’s story first. Adding “Yes” to me is one thing – adding “Yes” for you may be something else entirely. I would love to hear what “YES” you’ve added this year so far. What “YES” you PLAN on adding.

Signature_03

Leave a Reply

